d9000 Patricks

My first years in RPGs and the OSR

I played my first tabletop role-playing game between shutdowns during the Covid pandemic in late 2021. I began to play online shortly after and GMed my first dungeon half a year later, mid-2022. Somewhere around that time I jotted down some of the newbie questions I had answered for myself with the intention to write a reddit post or something that would include all the information that was most useful to me as a beginner. Two years later and I actually got around to doing it! And it's high time since I've started to feel at home in the scene and my memories of what it's like to be new to RPGs and the OSR subgenre in particular are fading.

I'm not trying to present objective truths here but to write for myself a few years back. Reports about another's experiences are often invaluable to me when it comes to start something new, both in the TTRPG space and in other areas of my life. That's why I'll present my experiences as a FAQ with questions that weren't solved with a quick google search and the answers I found. Please note that I'm not claiming any objective truth. Experience is tinged in opinons and impressions.

About Me

The vast majority of my TTRPG experience is in the OSR genre, so this article will reflect that. To me that means:

Most of my gaming experiences come from online OSR open table games, a year long OSR sandbox campaign with 11-12 year olds and various "trad" games in a local gameshop.

FAQ